What's the Correct Settings for EQ Pedals in Chain

Discussion in 'Effects, Pedals, Strings & Things' started by Waxhead, Jan 15, 2008.

1. Waxhead

Waxhead Member

Surfin at Merewether Point, NSW Australia
    I'm thinking of getting an MXR Graphic EQ pedal.

http://www.jimdunlop.com/index.php?page=products/pip&id=248&pmh=products/p_and_e_detail

Have heard great things about them improving the tone of an already excellent tube amp. Been playing in bands for 20 yrs but have never got into the EQ pedal thing before so I'm a newb on this one.

This article explains the principles behind it and it makes sense to me. It recommends you should have 2 or 3 EQ's in your chain.

http://www.amptone.com/truesecretofamptone.htm

But if you go for just 1 EQ pedal like the MXR and you place it in your amps loop then;

1) what's the best way to set the frequencies on both the MXR pedal and your amps EQ pots so that they both work in a complimentary way rather than cancelling eachother out. Is there a "normal" way to do this ?

2) one method would be to set all your amps EQ's to 12 oclock and set the MXR frequencies to taste, but is there a better way ?

3) what's your views on the article I've linked above. Do you really need 2 or 3 EQ's in your chain to optimise your amp's tone ?

4) what's your view on the alleged need for an attenuator like the THD Hotplate. When you're playing at gig volume levels with your tubes saturated will an attenuator really help ?

2. RDM

RDM Senior Member

I just bought and sold the 10-band MXR EQ. I just couldn't get the pedal to sound good with my overdrives. It was amazing for my cleans....with the amp eq set at high noon, and my normal tweaked settings.

No matter what I did, I couldn't get a goo dsound from both dirt and clean. When I tweaked all the settings so the EQ made my OD sound good, the cleans were horrible. I just didn't see the need for an EQ just for cleans or just for OD.