What's up with the "arms folded guys"?

Discussion in 'The Sound Hound Lounge' started by Teleking, May 27, 2015.

1. Teleking

Teleking Supporting Member

I've read about this phenomenon here before and chuckled as it's never happened to me before. I've been an original musician my entire life. We never get the "arms folded guys." The original crowd is either very much into your band, or they're way in the back not paying attention.

One of my original bands has decided to play some covers to try to grab some audience and expand our profile a bit.

Sure enough, "arms folded guys" were there. I was trying really, really hard not to laugh after reading some of the threads here awhile ago, but that's all I kept thinking about when I was trying to sing.

What's really strange is they were there the entire night---three full hours. I'm not even sure they were drinking. Just literally stood at the bar, faced the band, arms folded, didn't crack a smile once.

The rest of the crowd loved us, but there was a pack of about 4 of them just staring at us all night. It was very distracting, and I caught myself laughing at least twice while trying to sing.

It was the most bizarre thing I've ever experienced in all my years of playing music. Normally, if people think you suck, they just leave. Not these guys. There the entire time. Very strange.

grill likes this.
  2. ClassicLP

ClassicLP Member

Every show needs the gig police to count your "mistakes" and number of times you "didn't sound like the record."

Last edited: May 28, 2015
  3. loudboy

loudboy Member

We had a guy, wearing a gimme cap, mechanic's shirt and dirty jeans/work boots come into the middle of the empty dancefloor and just stand there and stare at us blankly, for a whole song.

Then walked away, didn't say anything.

I'd have given my whole night's pay to be inside his head for that one song. What the hell was he thinking?

derekd likes this.
  4. NoQuarter

NoQuarter Member