When did lowballers get so darn pushy?

Discussion in 'Guitars in General' started by zeffbeff, Dec 5, 2018.

1. zeffbeff

zeffbeff Member

I posted a few pieces of gear for sale on the usual sites: eBay and craigslist.

These are pretty small ticket items, selling for only a couple hundred dollars or less. I priced them at a pretty fair level, especially since I'm just starting out selling them, and I'm in no rush.

I haven't sold anything on the used market in a while, so I'm shocked at the extreme aggression that lowballers are coming at me with. They are essentially demanding that I sell my items to them at a fraction of a fraction of the listed price. It's not even an offer, it's a straight-up, near-violent, aggressive demand.

Is this something new with th used market? Surely these tactics don't ever work, right?

Woowoo and FokenBusker like this.
  2. Mr Fingers

Mr Fingers Member

I'm amazed you're surprised. This is normal human behavior that gets reported and complained about on this site all the time. People are allowed to lowball, and some humans are aggressive and obnoxious. If you don't want to deal with the public, don't sell via a public system. I suppose you can state that "offers below the listed price will not be accepted" and that might reduce the lowball traffic. But it comes with the territory.

jasevenny, G34RSLU7, Honch and 12 others like this.
  3. bluejazzoid

bluejazzoid Supporting Member

The same people walk into McDonald's with an empty drink cup from the day before and try to get free refills.

enharmonic, Brandon7s, nichd and 46 others like this.
  4. Promit

Promit Member

Lowballing relies on the oxygen of a response. I have my own red-lines on every listing where I will not acknowledge contacts under those values. Just nuke em and move right on. I also disregard anyone who uses the words "cash" and "tonight".