When does one earn the title "guitarist"?

Discussion in 'Guitars in General' started by vbf, May 10, 2016.

1. vbf

vbf Supporting Member

Greetings, gents. Like some of you, I've been playing for many years, have been in numerous bands, and currently gig, not nationally, mind you. I've always associated the term "guitarist" with a strong-semi-professional to professional player; a studio-quality musician, if you will. I consider my self a player of average skill, maybe at the lower end of a semi-professional level due to experience (and not musical training), that's played in large venues with various types of ensembles, bands, and orchestras and can loosely follow sheet music but need to write the guitar chords above the staff. I recognize time signatures, key signatures, rests, repeats, etc. but in no way could walk blind into a session with the expectation that I could play sheet music straight away. Guys that can do that, in my estimation, are "guitarists" and everyone else is a player. I've always admired and respected "guitarists" and accorded them the respect I think they are due. It's kind of like the difference between a piano player and a pianist. Isn't the expectation for a "pianist" higher than a "piano player"? Is the expectation of a "guitarist" higher than someone that plays the guitar? I've often been introduced as the "guitarist" and felt uncomfortable because I haven't earned it. So when does one earn it?

Anyway, curious what you guys think.

Krausewitz and AParrotLooksAt4O like this.
  2. AParrotLooksAt4O

AParrotLooksAt4O Member

I don't think you have to have session player level skill to be a guitarist, but I wouldn't use that term on someone who only knows 3 chords on their Carlo Robelli leaning against the dorm room wall.