Where do I start?????

Discussion in 'Recording/Live Sound' started by theflyingturtle, Dec 24, 2009.

1. theflyingturtle

theflyingturtle Member

I'm finally finishing up building my studio. The wiring is done, the insulation and sheetrock is finished, new door, and I'm ready to start recording! However, I've never recorded and know nothing about it. I mean no clue at all. I'm just a guitarist/vocalist and would like to make some tracks to critique my own playing and singing. Maybe write some songs, add some drums. Pretty tame stuff really. What do I need???? I do have a spare computer that could be set up for a workstation. I guess I need a mic...... A journey of a thousand miles begins with one post.

2. GregoryL

GregoryL Supporting Member

Recording software, at least one mic, an interface, and some monitors.

3. Timmylikesthing

Timmylikesthing Member

So true.

Before taking anyone else's advice (including my own)...

A couple questions for you.

1) Budget?
    2) Quality desired (be prepared for the "You'll need to practice recording" response. It's okay, you weren't good at guitar the day you picked it up right?)
    3) What are you going to record. You mentioned vocals and guitar, which is relatively easy but you also said a scary word, "drums." If you want to record live drums, that means your needs are different than if you want to record just guitar and vocals.
    4) What style of music? The needs of a bluesy, folky acoustic act are different than modern rock or metal or even country.

Alright, we'll start there.

In the meantime, you may want to think about how your room sounds overall. Check out www.ethanwiner.com. You don't have to buy from him, but his knowledge is very important. You can take a standard room and make it sound like a great one with a little cash and effort. Then you'll just enjoy playing guitar in there more too.

Welcome to the money pit.

Tim

4. Lek

Lek Member

Hello everyone! First post here...