Where to begin, again?

Discussion in 'Recording/Live Sound' started by kcprogguitar, Jan 21, 2015.

1. kcprogguitar

kcprogguitar Member

In a nutshell, I'm a guitarist of almost 40 years and a home recording newbie since the fostex 4 track.

I've since gotten into a DAW. Interfaces… but…

Some things I just don't know. And all the articles I read seem to make a jump over simple definitions of what I'm trying to figure out. For example, I'm starting to get my head around compression. But. Then someone goes off on "side chain" and "Aux Bus" and I'm left in the weeds. I want to learn, so where I can safely go ask questions? Last thing I want is to start a thread somewhere, and it turns into some engineers measuring wienies on the internet.

Is there a forum somewhere that actually welcomes questions? I'd rather do without ones that continuously state "use the search function" and would rather one that has tutorials or stickies.

So in the interest of being crystal clear. I want to be able to ask as stupid a question as I need to in order for ME to understand.

2. treeofpain

treeofpain Supporting Member

I found that the easiest way for me to understand how compression works was to just do my own experimentation and see what I like or don't like in different situations. It would be helpful for you to have a basic understanding of basic terms like ratio, threshold, attack, release, gain... Then you might try loading a "preset" compressor setting, looking at it, and understanding why it was set up that way for that particular instrument. While each song and track are different, there tend to be some basic defaults that folks will begin with for each type of track, then tweak to taste.

3. cjcayea

cjcayea cool as a cucumber in a bowl of hot sauce Supporting Member

please read this

http://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=29283