Which Audio Interface Should I Buy?

Discussion in 'Recording/Live Sound' started by zachjonesmail, Mar 26, 2020.

1. zachjonesmail

zachjonesmail Member

Hello Gear Page community,

I am in the market for an audio interface for apartment recording. I'm new to this. I'd to like to be able to come home and easily create songs with my instruments/mics without having to unplug and switch things around all the time. I'd like good enough quality that I could eventually upload my songs to Spotify or similar platforms. Music is my main hobby so would like a good UAD interface that lasts. Thank you! Details below

It would be great to know:

What would you recommend if money wasn't an option?

What would you recommend for under $1200?

Basic Needs:

I use vocal mic, guitar with pedalboard (possibly mic'd or Line out), bass, midi keyboard.

- I'd like to record my vocals and guitar at the same time but split these into separate tracks into Logic or Protools. This will be JUST ME recording, not a full band.

-I'd like to then be able to pick up the bass and/or play the midi keyboard easily and add those tracks to the computer program.

-I would like to be able to monitor my vocals and guitar in my ear via headphones in real time. This is mostly for personal use as I'd like to get used to hearing my own voice as I'm singing.

-Not requirement but it would be a plus to allow for one other player to accompany me at the same time when I'm singing/playing guitar, i.e. bass or midi keyboard, though I've heard that midi keyboards only require a USB to the computer and are not connected to the interface?? Assume they will NOT need a vocals mic.

Thanks!

-Zach

2. aleclee

aleclee TGP Tech Wrangler Staff Member

You answer a lot of the questions but you might check out the sticky on gear advice to help ensure you provide the info needed for people to provide relevant suggestions.

3. northfortyrecords

northfortyrecords Supporting Member