• The Gear Page Apparel & Merch Shop is Open!

Based on member demand, The Gear Page is pleased to announce that our Apparel Merch Shop is now open. The shop’s link is in the blue Navigation bar (on the right side), “Shop,” with t-shirts, hats, neck buffs, and stickers to start. Here’s the direct link: www.thegearpageshop.com

You’ll find exclusive high-quality apparel and merchandise; all items are ethical, sustainably produced, and we will be continuously sourcing and adding new choices. 

We can ship internationally. All shipping is at cost.

Which bebop minor scale?

Krank

In a classic blues tune ('Bad Luck Blues'), the B part goes:

|Fm---|Bbm---|Fm---|Cm7-F7-|

So a strong F regular minor character in those first three bars. However, the two bebop minor scale variations I know both have the regular 6th, not b6 as implied by the Bbm's third, Db.

So what scale(s) for improvisation over this progression? I'm only starting out with jazz so would like to keep it as simple as possible, but still use bebop scale runs.

JonR

The idea behind bebop scales is to add a chromatic passing note to a standard 7-note scale. They're not usually designed to work over more than one chord.
If you want a synthetic 8-note scale for both Fm and Bbm, what about adding the blues b5? (B/Cb). It comes out as a b9 on the Bbm, of course, but its familiar blues sound should get you out of that.
"Bebop aeolian blues" (to coin a phrase ;) ) = 1-2-b3-4-b5-6-b6-b7.

Personally I wouldn't get too prescriptive about scales. That's not how the bebop players would have worked on something like this, IMO.
They might have used plain F blues scale. They might have used chromatic approach notes to chord tones. They might have used an A natural in passing to the Bbm. They might have used a major 6 (or bebop dorian) on the Fm regardless of the Bbm (and then changed scale for the Bbm).