Which Fralin strat pickups to get?

Discussion in 'Effects, Pedals, Strings & Things' started by arexjay, Mar 17, 2006.

1. arexjay

arexjay Member

I've got a daphne blue Fender MIM '57 RI strat with stock pickups. I'm looking to replace the pickups in this, and I'm pretty sure I want Fralins... but don't know which set to get.

I don't want that deadful ice-picking on the bridge position, I want them to be balanced, and I don't want them to sound thin. I want them to sound like a vintage strat, but fuller (not thin).

I play into a Fender Blues Deluxe. I play indie-style rock in a band and blues at home.

So any suggestions?!

Thanks!

2. ToneRanger

ToneRanger Member

With the MIM I'd probably change all the pickups. I have no experience othen than with the Fralin Steel Pole 43 which is a fantastic pickup. I have it in the bridge position of my AV57 strat, others are stock. It balanced the set perfectly, no icepicks anymore and all the pickups are useable with the same amp settings.

I guess if I was replacing all my pickups I'd go with the Fralin Vintage Hots in the neck and middle plus a SP43 in the bridge. The Lollar Special set looks pretty good too. Plenty of very good choices, I guess it's hard to go wrong :)

3. JES1680

JES1680 Silver Supporting Member

Blues Specials. Very well balanced. More low end than most Strat pickups and the bridge has a base plate. This was the first (and one of only a couple) usable Strat bridge pickups I've ever played.

4. Dave Orban

Dave Orban Gold Supporting Member

I had the Blues Specials in the neck and middle, and a Steel Pole 42 in the bridge. They were most excellent!

5. DavidS

DavidS Supporting Member

I have the Blues Specials (bridge with base plate) in my Clapton strat. I also took out all the active lace sensor pickup electronics, mid-boost, etc. Sounds great through my Fenders, Fuchs, and TopHat.

6. sanhozay

sanhozay klon free since 2009