Which Germino??

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs' started by davednconfused, Jan 31, 2012.

1. davednconfused

davednconfused Member

I've decided to move from Blackface style amps to Plexi style amps.

I tried a Re-Issue Bluesbreaker the other day and loved it - but it's actually cheaper for me to get a hand-wired Germino.

I play Rock Country and Blues and am looking for that great Marshall breakup.

I play a Tele so getting the right breakup and headroom is essential.

I want to be able to use my volume knob to go from gritty, spanky slight overdrive to pretty full on sustain, without getting into shred territory.

I've been looking at the Club 40, Classic 45, and Lead 55.

Which of these will get me the classic Bluesbreaker style sound with a decent amount of breakup.

I am a gigging musician so I will be able to open it up, but I don't need any ear bleed!!

Cheers in advance

Dave

2. MadFrank

MadFrank Supporting Member

The 45 is the ultimate Bluesbreaker! If you liked the re-issue you played, hold onto your socks...there gonna get blown off by the Germino! Like a teenage boy's first night at the chicken ranc.... :nono

FWIW, I think they are great country and country-rock amps. For extra country headroom, you might want the Hi-Vo version, or for earlier gain on-set go for the Low-Vo (ask Greg). Give a thought too to the speakers that go with the 45, to match the tone your going for - Scumback will steer you right, partner. :D

3. ufguy73

ufguy73 Gold Supporting Member

yeah, if its specifically bluesbreaker you want you GOTTA go with classic 45!

one thing i have come to learn over the last year or so is just how many different variations of just plexi (let alone marshall) there are...i tended to think of them as close but subtle differences and figured i could get one and that would be the end of it...

but they are very different amps that greg makes and it would be hard for me not to have at least 2 of those circuits

4. Hand of Doom

Hand of Doom Member