Which humbuckers for a good clean tone in an LP type guitar?

Discussion in 'Guitars in General' started by MrMunky, Jun 30, 2008.

1. MrMunky

MrMunky Silver Supporting Member

1) Which set of humbucker pickups would you recommend for an excellent clean-Les Paul tone in a Monaco Elite?

2) What are your thoughts on the DiMarzio EJ signature pickups and the new DiMarzio 36th anniversary PAFs?

On its way to me soon will be a Hamer Monaco Elite. I know, from personal experience and the seemingly overwhelming majority of Monaco fans, that I will want to change the pickups when it arrrives, and I would like a set of humbuckers that sound great clean. The tone I'm really after is the Les Paul tone. Not the tone of the guitar, but the tone of the man himself in the late 50s.

The obvious options are some combination of the multitude of PAF copies manufactured by everyone. I have some experience with these, and I have some of them in other guitars, so I focus on these two models which I have no personal experience with: the new DiMarzio PAFs and the DiMarzio EJ Signature.

I am not a DiMarzio endorser or anything so I don't have a particular affinity for them as opposed to the offerings of other companies, but these two models in particular have intrigued me since I first read about them. Has anyone tried both? Does anyone who has tried either recommend another option for a good clean LP tone?

Thanks

2. skeeterbuck

skeeterbuck Member

I would recommend the Lollar Imperial low wind. I have a set and they are very clear sounding. Another nice and clear pickup is the Duncan Seth Lover's.

Hope this helps!

3. OldSchool

OldSchool Senior Member

WCR Dicky Betts set. Like 7.1 . I love Dickey but these pick ups were too low output for me. I get a set of Bare Knuckle Stormy Mondays That KILLED them. I also have a nice set of Lollar Imperials that rock. If you gotta have WCR then its either the Darkburst or the crossroads for me. [​IMG]

4. DavidE

DavidE Member