Which kids' guitar to buy?

Discussion in 'Guitars in General' started by EJW, Aug 26, 2008.

1. EJW

EJW Member

My 7 and 10 year old nephews ask to play my guitar every time they come over, so I'm thinking about getting them one for Christmas this year. I'm a firm believer that they should develop a love for the instrument by playing with the instrument before they see it as something they have to work at practicing. If they like playing, then the work will come naturally. To that end, I'd like to start them on an electric guitar with a quiet amp (an electric because it's way cooler and more fun to play than an acoustic in the eyes of a 10 year old, and quiet because I like my brother-in-law).

Obviously, I'd get them two great axes with killer amps if money was no issue, but I'm a graduate student and my wife works for a non-profit (i.e. we're POOR), so I'd like to keep things around $150. Musician's friend lists a Squire Strat for $100, but not much else in the way of junior guitars. As far as amps go, I'm leaning towards a Pignose, but I'm definitely going to see what's in the used section of the local music stores. What other companies are making affordable, yet playable, 3/4 guitars?

Thanks!
    ejw

2. DaGlenster

DaGlenster Member

I get alottof guitars for kids from swap meet finds. I think the Squire Strats and a small fender amp is the way to go. I usually get them for under $100. I have also found the Yamaha kits to be worth the money and I here you can get a starter kit for $80, it will need a setup, something they don't bother to tell kids and parents.

3. EJW

EJW Member