Which OD/Dist pedal for tight, focused, piano-like lows?

Discussion in 'Effects, Pedals, Strings & Things' started by JimEff, Jan 17, 2015.

1. JimEff

JimEff Member

I've been through quite a few OD/Dist pedals but I'm no pedal expert. A lot of pedals give me woofy fuzzy unfocused bass notes which I hate. What pedal would give me tight, focused, piano-like low notes? The big box Plexitone gets me there, sort of, but it's real finicky about which amp I use because it's so scooped. I tried putting a TS in-line with it but didn't like the results. I'm not necessarily trying to emulate a Marshall. Thanks.

2. dysorexia

dysorexia Senior Member

What amp are you using? The problem might be your amp or speakers and no pedal will help that.

3. JimEff

JimEff Member

I rotate between a few, usually a Tone King Imperial or a Quilter Aviator, both 1x12 combos. I don't think it's the amp. The TK can get what I'm after but you have to crank it to volumes that don't work for my situation. Pretty much the same with the Aviator. It gets fat but not until a certain volume. Maybe my goal is not attainable for volumes less than really-loud?

4. el34junior

el34junior Supporting Member

Try an older Barber Direct Drive.. Not a huge mid hump.. Easy to dial in & a great low gain pedal too. Not just medium/high gain.
    You can find one for about $70.

5. JimEff

JimEff Member

Is that the same as the Barber Compact Direct Drive or different?

6. mkr1

mkr1 Supporting Member

Or the Gain Changer. It seems to be the response offered to a lot of "which OD for..." threads. I have a few pedals with a pre-drive bass control and some with post-drive. The GC is tighter than them all, in terms of providing a thumpy but focused attack on low strings. Any of his pedals with the bass trim pot will give you good tight attack with ability to crank up the fullness without flub.

7. Drak

Drak Supporting Member

One of the Amptweaker pedals that come with the tight control.
    That's what it does.