Which power amp for my modeler? Rocktron Velocity 100 vs ART SLA 1

Hi all.

I'm looking for experiences with either or (preferably) both power amps. I will be using my modeler into the power amp and into a guitar cab. Currently I'm using a HD500 but I'm contemplating replacing it with a Digitech GSP1101.

I have a line on both power amps locally, so that's why I'm asking about those two specifically.

stratzrus

Philadelphia Jazz, Funk, and R&B
Gold Supporting Member
I don't think either one has enough power. Modelers like serious wattage if you're going with a SS amp. I'd look for a good 50 WPC tube amp like a Randall RT2/50 or get at least 300 WPC solid state.

I had a 150 WPC SS amp and it really suffered tone wise when pushed. It was fine for practice but would not have cut it at concert volume.

Sorry, I should have stated that I'll only be using it at home for the moment.

I'm a guitarist at heart but in my current band I'm sadly relegated to bass duty. I mean, I like playing bass but I would take guitar any day.

Thanks for the input :)

gulliver

Silver Supporting Member
I had an old Velocity, watch out for the pots if you're buying used, they crackle ... I had to change them all. The tube simulation next to a real tube power amp was not accurate IMHO.

For your application I'd recommend just getting an old '80s SS amp, like a Hafler. They weigh a ton, but mine was $75 and built like a tank. Also, stay away from anything with a fan ... very annoying for home use.

You can also pick up old '70 (big knob tuner) receivers for under $50. Again, built like a tank but super heavy.

The sound on these older amps are killer, the industry eventually changed to integrated circuits and smaller capacitors and the quality went down hill.

stratzrus

Philadelphia Jazz, Funk, and R&B
Gold Supporting Member
People have reported good results with power amps from Carvin. I'd see if I could score as high powered one as I could afford off eBay.