Who are or were your teachers?

Discussion in 'Playing and Technique' started by monte, Jan 27, 2008.

1. monte

monte Gold Supporting Member

Just wondering who you guys took or still take lessons from.

I was taught briefly as a child and then picked it up on my own later on and remained self taught. These days, I go for lessons every now and then with Karl Cochran. It is great to be able to get a fresh perspective on playing and to also have things explained sometimes.

FYI, Karl is the guitar player for Joe Lynn Turner, co-wrote some Kiss songs, played with ESP and Ace Frehley as well as has a couple of albums of his own out there. He is located in NJ.

Check him out http://www.karlcochran.com/

2. countandduke

countandduke Member

I've taken lessons from a few people:

Ben Starzak
    Terry Peterson (great player in Kenosha)
    Dave Uhrich
    Frank (forgot his last name, lived in Gurnee, IL)

That's about it, of course I have a TON of dvd's and have learned a bunch from them and dudes on this forum.

Chris

3. Flyin' Brian

Flyin' Brian Member

West of YOW by way of CT, NY, NJ, Chicago and IN
    Formerly with Henry Johnson in Chicago, now with Neal Alger also in Chicago.

4. Captain Crunch

Captain Crunch Member

My current teacher is Rex Carroll, formerly of the band White Cross. Truly a monster player and gifted musician. I call him 'sensei'. :D

[​IMG]

5. KRosser

KRosser Member

Cut & pasted from a similar thread in the Lounge not too long ago:

6. Leucadian

Leucadian Guest