• New Sponsor: ShipNerd, Ship Your Gear with Us... for less! Click Here.

Who here has tried to like modelers but ended up going back to tube gear?

Guitar Vilain

I'm especially interested in hearing stories about high end modelers like Kemper, Axe-FX and Eleven Rack. Please state how you were monitoring your modeler(s), if you're comfortable tweaking gear and your playing experience.

Myself I've been playing for over 30 years, tried GNX4, RP1000, GT-10, HD500 and 11R and went back to my tube rig (Triaxis, JMP1 and G-Major2 into FX Return of EL34-equipped combo) because I could never make modelers sound even close to what I get from tube gear. Tried monitoring said modelers through QSC K10 and FX return of my tube combo, always with less than stellar results.

Jay Mitchell

If there are folks like yourself lurking, don't you think they'd tend to spend their time in the amps and cabs forum? Maybe you'll get more responses if you ask the question there.

Guitar Vilain

If there are folks like yourself lurking, don't you think they'd tend to spend their time in the amps and cabs forum? Maybe you'll get more responses if you ask the question there.
Maybe, or maybe they like me haven't tried them all and want to trade experiences. Also lugging tube gear around gets tiresome pretty quickly, I still want modeling to work for me.

forum_crawler

Unless they do like modelers, but still prefer tubes. There are those of us here...

Pietro

2-Voice Guitar Junkie and All-Around Awesome Guy
I went from modeling to tubes a few years ago... LOVED it...

...then I went back again. Like it more back in modeling again, to be honest, but both can be great.

Lution

I'm currently using both. Tried to go strictly with digital and couldn't do it. Also, tried to go strictly tube and couldn't do that either.

cardinal