Who Makes the best Dumble-like pedal?

Discussion in 'Effects, Pedals, Strings & Things' started by p.snail, May 15, 2006.

1. p.snail

p.snail Member

I have zero experience with any of these pedals. I know that Menatone, Hermida, and HAO make Dumbles in a box. Who else is making one and which one works best for you? It is a tone I'm interested in trying to get for myself, but Dumbles, Two Rocks, and Fuchs amps are not an option. Thanks in advance.

2. homerayvaughan

homerayvaughan Member

I'll place a vote for the Zendrive. I played a Fuchs ODS30 once and it can do way more than the pedal can. Do a search, you'll find plenty of posts on this subject.

3. xroads

xroads Member

Zendrive - it's not as dynamic as the real thing, but if you play around with the controls of the box and the volume of your guitar, you can get some of the dynamic pick attack people are looking for. I use it a lot with SCs to get a fluid but dynamic blues sound.

4. nsriley

nsriley Member

I'd third the ZenDrive. I have one and if you tweek it right with your amp, it's will get you very very close to that sound. :)

-Peace
    -Nate

5. journo

journo Member

Hi,

I have a Zendrive and it does get close to that sound but my specimen takes away some bass. The dynamics are good but they mainly seem to affect the sound and not the volume. I also have some issues with it not responding the way I want it when I change the volume on my guitar.

I just got another pedal that I got quite close with that is easier to get and that's the T-Rex Mudhoney. I just posted a tune in the sound clip section if you want to hear it in action.

Cheers,

Mats N

6. steinny

steinny Member

Can you be more specific? I have a ODS30 which I love, but I need a pedal for a backup rig, and in clips the Zendrive sounds pretty close - what "more" does the ODS do?

7. TaronKeim

TaronKeim Member