Who's using a Barber Small Fry and how do you like it?

Discussion in 'Effects, Pedals, Strings & Things' started by Deaj, Aug 3, 2006.

1. Deaj

Deaj Silver Supporting Member

Hello all,

I had an opportunity to demo a Barber Small Fry yesterday and my initial impression was very good. I'm just wondering how those of you who have a Barber Small Fry are getting along with it after some time. Thanks!

2. sgguitarzz

sgguitarzz Supporting Member

What kind of sounds are you getting?

3. David-R

David-R Supporting Member

I've been using mine for a couple of months now for smooth classic rock crunch with the Fralin SP43 bridge pickup in my Strat into a Carr Mercury. Gain at 3:00, Dynamics at 9:00, EQ'd to taste (bass at 12:00, mids at 2:00, Presence off). It's worked out real well. Definitely a keeper.

4. Deaj

I'm looking at the Small Fry as a potential replacement for my OCD (500K and a cap change for more mids and smoother highs). The OCD has worked very well for me but interacts poorly with some other pedals - most notably the DLS EchoTAP that follows it. While I didn't have the opportunity to A/B the Small Fry with my OCD the SF seemed very similar and more flexible. I mostly dig Dumble type OD and responsiveness and use OD pedals that provide some tonal variety with the above characteristics. The Small Fry would be used for more aggressive medium OD sounds and occasionally as a low gain OD for blues (this is how I currently use the OCD.

5. Deaj

Bump

Anyone else?

6. homerayvaughan

homerayvaughan Supporting Member

I have been using one for a few months. Current favorite OD pedal through my super reverb, even more than the zendrive. I find it really smooth with a tight low end with alot of tweakability. It is a lot tighter sounding pedal to me than the zen.

7. ASATClassic

ASATClassic Member

I'm playing a Burn Unit...they're the same (as far as sound), correct?