Why are greats considered "great"?

Discussion in 'Playing and Technique' started by dinvincible, Mar 6, 2015.

1. dinvincible

dinvincible Member

I am new to music,I mean learning music and everyone knows and hears about greats like beethoven,mozart and all.I don't have any knowledge about music history.

I was wondering why are they considered as greats?
    Did they do something unprecedented?
    Or the music they composed was out of world or something?

Or the creativity part was what made them great?

or is it more like father telling his son how great things used to be in his times.I mean where not many know why they were considered great,most of them just follow what others are saying

And what do you think would make a musician great in our times?

I mean it would be wrong to say that no one was born with as much talent (if it matters) as the greats once they died.So now in our times when almost everything that is great comes to limelight bcoz of internet and all,why we don't hear "wow,this guy is comparable to the greats or better than them" or something like that??

Or maybe its more like Music was not as developed a field back then as it is now.So what they did contributed a lot to music in general

Thanks

2. dinvincible

dinvincible Member

I mean I really wish that someday when I learn enough music and I become capable of knowing why they are considered as great.

But I fear its more like two people starring at a wall and saying "man it looks awesome" and then 10 more joining them and saying the same or something like that.

And obviously there is this thing.The more you analyse a particular thing,especially one which is considered as good,the more will be the reasons which you will find to start loving it.

So I am kinda intrigued and I hope i get some great answers.Currently watching some documentary on them.

3. JonR

JonR Member

General acclaim. Democratic vote.
    Yes.