Why can't folks keep time in a 12-bar blues?!

jazblugtr

Silver Supporting Member
I've been playing in a blues/rock band for about three years and we've grown into what I'd call a above average bar band. For the life of me however, I cannot get anyone except the drummer to keep good time in a 12-bar blues.

We tried doing an acoustic rehearsal without the drummer last night and they were all over the place. Half-time, cut-time, all in the middle of one song! WTF? I think the drummer and I take it for granted since we've been playing blues/jazz jams for a long, long time. I don't have to count, I can "hear" if it's been 2, 4, 8, 16 bars on the same chord. Many musicians I play with don't get it, however. :dunno

Am I in the wrong for thinking they should just "get it"? Or should I be busting their chops for not listening?

Phletch

I've been playing in a blues/rock band for about three years and we've grown into what I'd call a above average bar band. For the life of me however, I cannot get anyone except the drummer to keep good time in a 12-bar blues.
Those two statements contradict each other. If only you and the drummer can keep time, how can the band as a whole be considered "above average"?
We tried doing an acoustic rehearsal without the drummer last night and they were all over the place. Half-time, cut-time, all in the middle of one song! WTF? I think the drummer and I take it for granted since we've been playing blues/jazz jams for a long, long time. I don't have to count, I can "hear" if it's been 2, 4, 8, 16 bars on the same chord. Many musicians I play with don't get it, however. :dunno

Am I in the wrong for thinking they should just "get it"? Or should I be busting their chops for not listening?