Why Do People Use A Separate Power Amp?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs' started by guitargypsy, Oct 1, 2008.

1. guitargypsy

guitargypsy Member

I have been playing guitar for nearly twenty years and have always used some combination of combo amps, heads and cabinets and have never lacked for volume or tone in my opinion.

However, I have noticed that some guitarists that I admire use power amps in addition to a pre amp, be it a head or some rack mounted pre amp thing. I think I also read that EVH would run his Marshall into an attenuator and then into a separate power amp.

My question is this: why? is it purely for increased volume (which is hard for me to imagine with a loud 100 watt head), for running things in stereo, putting time based effects after amp distortion, or achieving a different sound tonally? Help me out...

2. FrankieSixxxgun

FrankieSixxxgun Member

They say that running an attenuator line out into a separate power amp yields better volume control and better tone. I think it's horse sh*t personally, I have plenty of power and volume control out of my 100 watt head with a Hot Plate on top.

3. Mickey Shane

Mickey Shane Silver Supporting Member

I believe that this was more popular before FOH PA systems were considered to be adequate for guitar sound.

The guitarist would achieve the wanted tone, then run it into 2000W power amps to bring the dB level up to rock arena gig sound levels. This is why they had a wall of cabs on the stage.

Now, the PA handles bringing up the level of the guitar. I still wonder how that works with smooth cones.:confused:

4. MBreinin

MBreinin Supporting Member

I did it to add wet effects to an amp with no loop. It worked quite well.

5. Bussman

Bussman Member

Not really. Running an amp into a load and then into a power amp is the precursor to the Ultimate Attenuator type gadgets. You do this for 2 principal reason: