why do we use compressors?

Discussion in 'Recording/Live Sound' started by Guitarplayerdan, Oct 22, 2008.

1. Guitarplayerdan

Guitarplayerdan Member

Im still relatively new to recording.

I understand what compressors do, but how do this really make our audio source sound better. Why do I want a threshold on my audio. How does it make our recordings "perfessional". I watched tons of demos with compression off and then on, and EVERY time i couldn't hear a difference.

Do I want a compressor so I can recieve a more consistant level from the audio source and not a level that jumps from to quite to peaking?
    I understand why I would want this live but why in the studio?

Someone also told me that comprssor brings up your quite spots and brings down you louder spots, how does it bring up I thought it only brought down?

2. alvagoldbook

alvagoldbook Member

Compressors ultimately make mixing easier.

For instance, a distorted guitar is typically very compressed. The amp compresses the signal. It levels out the loud notes from the soft notes and make them fairly uniform. For that reason, mixing in the proper level of distorted guitar is pretty easy. You generally won't have a part that is louder than another part.

Now take vocals. Unlike guitars, bass, drums, keyboards, etc, vocals are not mechanical. They are always imperfect. For that reason some syllabels or words will be louder than others. It makes no sense to mix a vocal for every word. Instead you compress it so that the loudest words are at the same general level as the softest words.

Bass, or any clean tone, always have issues with this, and compression becomes very important. The amount of compression used is important too. Tons of compression can make something sound life-less or artificial. You might actually want that (it's useful in metal) or you might want less.