Why I think people who insist on NMV are being kind of awkward

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs' started by Rena Rune, Feb 11, 2012.

1. Rena Rune

Rena Rune Member

Alright first off, I respect some people will just have their preference and regardless of how much tone difference there "really" is, they may simply like having a piece of tech that works that way, the same way people like to collect old video games consoles that are more or less perfectly emulated.

However it does bother me when people insist on the "purity" of higher wattage, NMV Tube amplifiers, from a technical perspective, and won't at least try an alternative where appropriate.

As a gigging electronic musician, I tend to work with the sound man perhaps more closely than the average musician. I use guitars, and even some tones that might not be far off what the average TGPer would use at time, but I run them through a modeler as it's just far easier.

I don't think guitarists realise how awkward they are being here. If an electronic musician showed up to some night running his TB303 through a Bass amp that had to be turned to a specific volume, it would drive people mad, people would have no time for him.

One of the main problems here is that your sound will be different for every venue. You can't keep the volume, and therefore level of dirt, the same everywhere. Back in the old days when guitar amps were magic boxes it might have been acceptable, but people know better now. This is a nightmare on so many levels. A dirtier tone is generally brighter(and more compressed), so other band members as well as the sound man have to work around that.

It's not really being "rebellious" and rock'n'roll either, just kind of awkward. Afterall insisting on sticking to an old technology is pretty conservative unless you're actually coming up with a great new use for it(I know a guy who plays amps, Oranges and ****, turned all the way up, but plays really quietly).

Last edited: Feb 11, 2012
  2. chrisrocksusa