Why is my bridge humbucker so bright?

titansfan4196

I recently bought a strat that I’ve been wanting for a long time and pickups that I’ve been looking at for a while as well...

Fender American Professional Stratocaster with roasted maple neck, rosewood fretboard, jumbo frets.

HSS pickup layout with lollar pickups. Blackface neck and middle, F-spaced standard Imperial. Also added the Emerson prewired electronics.

I’m really liking this guitar, love the neck and middle pickups. The Imperial sounds great but its so dang bright. Its overly ‘spanky’ and almost sounds like a single coil, even with the tone knob rolled back.

This is my first HSS strat so maybe its how its supposed to be but I’m not used to it. I told an experienced guitarist I know about it and he described it as a very ‘clean’ humbucker. Again, I’ve been playing guitar for 11 years, played a PRS for 7 of those years. I consider myself a really decent guitarist, but its only in the past year or so that I’ve really gotten deep into knowing my gear.

What are your thoughts?

StummerJoe

Platinum Supporting Member
First thought is did the pickup get wired correctly? Second thoughts are what are the values of the pots? Third thoughts are adjust the treble on your amp.

jads57

Silver Supporting Member
I found that Seymour Duncan Screamin Demon worked well in a bridge position of a Strat.

Mincer

If it is really bright and you don't like that, it would be OK to look for another pickup. Or possibly even swap the magnet out.

Rod

Tone is Paramount
Gold Supporting Member