Why is my Deluxe Reverb harsh sounding, and will Weber Alnicos Help?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs' started by aram, Sep 11, 2009.

1. aram

aram Member

Hey all,

I've been playing an early seventies deluxe reverb for a couple of years now.

For some reason, the amp has always sounded a little brittle and harsh to me, especially compared to my blackface vibrochamp.

I clipped the bright cap and switched the speaker to a cannibis rex.

But still, it harsh to my ears.

I was thinking about putting one of these Weber Alnico speakers in it.

Has anyone hear ever used these?

And if so, how do they sound?

https://taweber.powweb.com/weber/

2. slider313

slider313 Silver Supporting Member

What brand of preamp tubes are you using? What brand of power tubes and where do you have your bias set?

3. soldano16

soldano16 Member

Time for new power tubes maybe?

4. mbratch

mbratch Member

I'm surprised it sounds harsh with a CRex speaker. I have a Weber 12F150 in mine (ceramic) and I wouldn't call it harsh at all, and it's more Fender-twangy than a CRex (imho).

Do both channels sound harsh?
    Are you playing through pedals or direct?
    What speaker besides the CRex did you try?
    What do you set the tone controls to?
    What kind of guitar/pickups do you have?
    What do you set your guitar tone controls to?
    Has the bias been properly adjusted?

5. FFTT

FFTT Member

I'm surprised to hear you don't care for the C-Rex too.

That speaker worked wonders in my Blues Deluxe which was quite harsh before.

The Weber Blue Dog AlNiCo will definitely be smoother on top, but I'm not sure how you'll like the way the low end holds together.

You may want to consider the low efficiency 12A125A 30 watt , but it's going to bring
    the volume way down compared to the C-Rex

Last edited: Sep 12, 2009
  6. aram

aram Member

Thanks for the responses everyone.

I actually had the tubes changed recently. I'll look into what were but into it, but I believe they were JJs.