Why own two NOS Nocasters

digthosetubes

Was able to acquire two new Custom Shop Time Machine '51 NOS Nocasters with COAs brand new for $1600 each, including tax, etc. Both look good sound beautiful and play great. One has a slight edge, perhaps in terms of "mojo." And yet the other one has its own nice vibe.

Have been lusting so long for a "vintage" Tele that I'm thinking of keeping both guitars. They just sound so good with my old Ampeg Gemini II and '68 Princeton Reverb.

Both necks are large -- THICK. But since learning on classical guitars as a youth, these Fender necks don't seem large at all, but rather comfortable. The round fretboard and smaller fret wire seems just fine. In fact, after playing these new vintage necks, the modern Strat C profile seems TOO small and looks structurally and tonally unsound.

So here's the question. Keep both Nocasters? Money is dear to me. I'm no lawyer. But supose I changed the wiring in one to a four-way selector with tone controls (vs. the supplied blend and dark curcuit, which I like) and thicker strings and a different bridge pickup angle -- and end up with sorta two "different" guitars to play. Just seems like the price and quality here are too good to pass on. Maybe the price isn't that good. You are the experts. I would like some ideas, opinions, and thoughts. Keep them both? And if so, how could I mod one to get a different playing experience. But no destructive mods. Want to have the option of selling either one.

Rotten

Gold Supporting Member
I love having two of the same guitar. They will always be slightly different and picking up your second favorite now and then keeps things fresh. Also, if you are a tinkerer having two teles that you know really well helps in comparing pickups. Twenty years from now, you will be glad that you kept them. They may not be collectors, but they will seem comparatively cheap.