Why the Ultimate Attenuator works so well

Discussion in 'Effects, Pedals, Strings & Things' started by soldano16, Mar 12, 2008.

1. soldano16

soldano16 Member

Now understand that I have no experience using 50 and 100 watt Marshalls at real volume. I play at moderate volumes and previously had my 50 watt plexi amp at 3 at jams at my house. When I gigged it, I had it at 4 and used a pedal for dirt. But now with the UA, I run the amp on 7+. So far the experience has been magic. Part of the magic is the fact that the gain comes on faster than the volume.

In other words, if I go into a lead and find I want more dirt and sustain, it comes on very fast and heavy relative to the volume. So just by being a bit careful with pick attack, it's very easy to find the perfect blend for what I feel like playing. Before, any such change to the tone would bring an unacceptable increase in volume. But now, I can ride my volume control almost like a tone control. Maybe this is how it works anyways if you run the amp at 7+. But now I have volumes I can live with. :dude

For folks with NMV amps that are just too powerful, this unit is a great solution.

I know I probably post too much on this UA but after being so frustrated knowing I was missing out on the joys of my plexi and now having the incredible tone on tap, I feel almost obligated to spead the news. And to really qualify, I have NO experience with any other kind of attenuator. But I think I know tone and THIS is tone.

Dannyz likes this.
  2. marmelade sky

marmelade sky Member

great, I'm planning to get one as well...

too disappointed after using some others which altered my tone...

I'll let you Know about my appreciations when I'll get it...;)

3. pickslide

pickslide Supporting Member