Why use a compressor?

Discussion in 'Effects, Pedals, Strings & Things' started by mike80, Apr 17, 2008.

1. mike80

mike80 Member

This might be sort of a noob question...I've been playing for 15 years, but one effect I've never messed with is a compressor. I use one on vocals and drums when I am doing recordings, just to keep the levels consistant, but I have never tried using on on a guitar.

What is the purpose behind using one on guitar? Am I missing out on something? I mainly play newer rock music with a lot of gain, but I'll play clean for some parts. Would a compressor help out on my Dual Recto's cleans?

2. shaneygoo

shaneygoo Member

i don't know i think they started in the studio to polish and keep things even and worked their way into pedals, but they're an effect in themselves

try one if you don't think you need it then you don't

3. marcher5877

marcher5877 Member

I use a compressor to keep my levels steady. In the band I play in, I basically alternate between clean, a wah and a TS-9. I need to keep all 3 of these different tones at the same level so I have my compressor at the end of my chain.

When I am playing clean, the compressor boosts my indvidual note playing to keep it even with my chord strumming.

When I use my wah, it prevents to much high end or "brittle-ness" and also keeps the levels in check.

When I use the TS-9 its changes the tone but note the volume so much.

It also overall "sweetens" my tone. Hard to explain but you can hear the difference. I play a semi-hollow body, so I keep the sustain on the compressor down why down and use the compressor volume as my volume output. My amp volume will be set to the room and not touched untill a different room.

BTW, I use an analogman comprosser and I love it! Its the secret to my tone! Thanks Mike!

4. geetarman

geetarman Member

Can't speak for others but I simply use it to add sustain to clean lead lines or evening out clean rhythms.

5. emjee

emjee Member