Wide Neck Options Advice

Discussion in 'Guitars in General' started by agreatheight, Dec 16, 2009.

1. agreatheight

agreatheight Member

I am a bassist who is playing more and more guitar. I have very fat fingers and have trouble cleanly fretting open chord shapes - I am muting other strings unintentionally. It doesn't bother me that much for songwriting, but now that I am playing live and recording it's really pissing me off, lol. So I am thinking a wide width neck would be great.

So, what are my options? I know that Warmoth makes a wide neck that fits strats, and a build could be fun / educational (maybe a Jazzmaster with a stoptail and humbuckers). What else is available? What are the options? And, if I do find a suitable wide neck, do I need to look for different pickups? Anyone actually done this? I gotta think there are other dudes out there with fat fingers!

Thanks all!

Last edited: Dec 16, 2009
  2. Paul Conway

Paul Conway Member

Suhr make their 1 11/16" neck wider at the butt end as well as the nut, to accomodate a vintage bridge spacing. That's where you get problems with custome wide necks usually. (Fender go the other way and use a narrower bridge on their American Series guitars.) I had a vintage bridge on a strat with a 1.75" nut, and you just couldn't space the strings properly. Lesson learned.

My Suhr is supremely spacious all along the neck, and I have hands like bunches of bananas. Although I appreciate this is a pricey option.

3. bynt

bynt Member

There are a bunch of options for replacement necks. I'm addicted to fat necks after many years of playing thin ones. I've currently got a Warmoth Boat neck on my strat and tele and they are great. I've also played the Allparts fatback which I'm in love with (actually going to put that on my tele).