Wireless Recommendations for the Weekend Warrior

JoeInOttawa

All,

I have been using the Line 6 G30/35 for over ten years without too many complaints, but, as I more and more wireless to the live rig, I'm starting to find the range of the wireless system starting to wane. I suspect the 2.4Ghz band is simply getting a bit too crowded, but I'm no longer getting anything close to 100ft line-of-sight -- and I used to get more than that.

So I'm looking for the next wireless system, and I have a few requirements:
  • A legitimate 40-foot range under even challenging conditions
  • A receiver that I can mount on my pedalboard
  • A transmitter that uses AA batteries and is good with rechargeables
  • Reasonably budget-friendly for a weekend warrior
So? Whaddya suggest?

Maybe @Digital Igloo or @Frank Ritchotte want to chime in to suggest I might want to wait -- or not? I've been pretty happy with my Line 6 gear, and if there's something coming from them that I should consider, I can wait. I'm not desperate -- yet.

Thanks!

Joe

Reactions: C-4

petty1818

Only thing missing is the AA battery option but the new Line 6 G10S would be my first choice. I have the original and love it live.

-Hawk-

Silver Supporting Member
I can't tell you the technical specs, but I switched from the G30 to the G10s (when I was still using wireless). It's such a better experience imo.

JoeInOttawa

I appreciate the G10 suggestion, but, sadly, that won't work for me, because I'd have to own two to always have a backup battery. It also operates in the same 2.4Ghz range as the 30 I have now, so I'm not sure it'd be an upgrade, ultimately.

JoeInOttawa

Looks like the Shure is also a 2.4Ghz device. Maybe the smart-frequency-hopping negates the problems I'm seeing, though. But I wish it took AAs...

kdm1218

Silver Supporting Member
Does the receiver use a standard power supply? Not much good on my pedalboard if I can't use my TrueTone 1Spot...