Wiring - 3 Lipstick Mods

Discussion in 'Luthier's Guitar & Bass Technical Discussion' started by benxiwf, Feb 11, 2012.

1. benxiwf

benxiwf Member

So I just purchased a Reverend Spy which has 3 lipsticks, a vol and tone, and a 5 way. I like the tone but can't stand the low output of the lipsticks. Before I buy another pickguard with p90s, I want to try a series wiring setup. I am willing to add some 2 way switches. I would like to add a series option and an option to add the bridge pickup to any pickup combination. I am thinking all 3 in series may be very nice on this guitar. The Dipinto Mach 4 uses a dual single in the bridge and I was thinking something like that might be a good setup for this guitar. Can someone provide me/ lead me to an easy to read diagram of how to accomplish this? I can solder well but Im no electronics expert and find "real" diagrams difficult to read...
    Perhaps a switching option like this:
    Position 1 - Neck
    Position 2 - Neck/Middle in series
    Positon 3 - Middle
    Positon 4 - Mid/Bridge series
    Position 5 - Bridge Only
    Mini Toggle - Bridge on/off
    Mini Toggle 2 - Mid out of phase?
    Thanks in advance for any help!
    Ben

Last edited: Feb 11, 2012
  2. kimock

kimock Member

I've been using lipsticks for 30 years on my main guitar, the flipside of low output is big headroom and dynamic range. If you want 'em to hit the amp harder, just turn the amp up.

If you give it some time to see what those pickups actually do as opposed to what they don't do, you might really like them. I know I do. Just a thought. .

peace!!

3. benxiwf

benxiwf Member

You may be right and I do appreciate their qualities. My biggest problem is switching from guitar to guitar and having to totally adjust everything to get levels correct.

4. Sweetfinger

Sweetfinger Supporting Member