Working MBox

Discussion in 'Recording/Live Sound' started by joeh77, Jan 15, 2006.

1. joeh77

joeh77 Member

I am a novice at MBox. Even though I bought the thing about a year ago (with the bundle). The instructions tell you next to nothing about how to work it. I went out an bought a book, The Musician's Guide to Pro Tools. I find it very difficult to work through the book along with anything practical. Really I think the more time I spend trying to figure this stuff out, the less time I actually get to practice, which is what I really need to do.

Anybody have any recommendations on any shortcuts they've found to streamline the process with MBox and Pro Tools?

Thanks,
    Joe:)

2. Matt Gordon

Matt Gordon Senior Member

I don't know Joe, but I came from the Roland VS stuff, and Protools is much more intuitive, way better than the stand-alone DAW's IMHO. I had mine working in about twenty mins, and have recorded over and over in the last two weeks. MBox II, Reason 3.0, and Protools are perfect for me. I don't have any use for Ableton Live Lite, as it's a little too light for anything more than auditions. But I've not had better than the Mbox II/Protools combo. What about it confuses you? Both Reason and Protools use the grabber, eraser, etc. Both are more easily manipulated than anything I've seen. Have you registered all the software? Also, have you viewed the DVD that came with it?

3. onemind

onemind Member

Joe, there are some short videos on Digidesign's Website. In the DISK (Digidesign Sound Knowledge), you'll find a bunch of excellent materials including an mBox Tour. If you have more specific questions, trying searching the User's Conference postings, great information there as well. Once you get the basic workflow down you'll find it very simple to work with. Don't get overwhelmed with the features. If you're inputs and outputs are correctly configured, it's really as easy as adding an audio track, arming the track and recording.

4. MichaelK