Worth it to mod my Fender?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs' started by Pseudohobbit, Feb 3, 2015.

1. Pseudohobbit

Pseudohobbit Supporting Member

I've been thinking about modding my Blues Deluxe, not an expensive amp but I gravitate toward the sound. Some web research has revealed a few interesting mods like cap replacement and a pentode/triode switch. I'm wondering if others here have had their newer Fenders modded and if it was worth it. The total mod costs would be no more than $250 I think.

2. Dad love mom

Dad love mom Supporting Member

I doubt it. I have no experience with modding Blue Deluxes, but I can tell you that the difference isn't going to as perceivable as you think. More so, in terms of musicality, I doubt the audience would be able to tell. Remember -- they are the reason you play music -- to impress them. I've yet to come across many mods (including tube swapping, guitar pickup swaps, etc) where the audience can absolutely tell the difference.

If you rock, you will know it by their reaction. If you don't, you'll know as well. :)

3. DGDGBD

DGDGBD Member

I had an orignal blues deluxes and tried some mods including the triode/pentode switch. That one is not worth it IMO. The best thing I did with that amp was to upgrade the output tubes (mine came with Sovtek 5881WXT stock) and speaker. I liked the small bottle 6L6WGBs in that amp.

4. Figaro

Figaro Supporting Member

I agree, just upgrade the tubes and maybe the speaker.

5. vicdeluca71

vicdeluca71 Member

Forget about modding. If you don't like the tone you are getting get rid of it, its a little blunt but I've been down that road and no tube or speaker or resister change is gonna make it sound like "a keeper". Its in the circuit. You've known when you bonded with an amp when speaker or tube change makes hardly a difference

6. Hound Dog61

Hound Dog61 Member

I would try a speaker change if you are looking to change something.

7. bigtone23

bigtone23 Member