Would I be able to re-fret my guitar?

conanb

I have zero experience of doing this kind of thing. Is it hard? It's an Epi LP so it's worth about $300. I really can't see me spending half the value of the guitar on a refret (I don't have the money anyway :( )

conanb

Btw, the reason I need to refret is there's a large dent in most of the frets at the exact point where the high e string sits when the guitar was in storage for a couple of years. Cut right in there. Don't know how it happened, it was in it's proper case. Hmm....

Brian N

It's not impossible if you're really handy I guess, but you're more likely to screw it up without proper training. On top of that, you'll need specialized tools which will cost you more than the cost of having a pro do it.

JBid

Well, that would be the guitar to learn on, I suppose. Get a good book on guitar repair. Chances are that a level, crown and polish will be sufficient.
This video gives you some idea of that process.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uflkxIgPr1c
A complete refret is a more involved deal and I would probably say to go to a tech and ask if you can watch him do it before you attempt it yourself.
And the tools ain't cheap.
Good luck.

Fatboy666

Silver Supporting Member
this /\

at the very least you will need fret wire and something to level the fingerboard and subsequently the frets, and something to dress the frets ie round them back again, and then polish them

and that's after you successfully remove the old frets and install the new ones

if it seems like something you might do multiple times, it might be worth it - maybe even look for a junker guitar on Craigslist or garage sales to practice on first. There's a bit of a learning curve so you're better off learning on something you don't care about

conanb