Wow, huge difference between old vs new Budda Superdrive!

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs' started by goodertone, May 22, 2015.

1. goodertone

goodertone Member

So, I've been enjoying a pre-peavey Budda SDII 80 combo for a few months, and decided to get a head version to go along with a Budda 4x12. I received the head (peavey version), and there are some quite noticeable differences, sound-wise, between the two.

Right away, the peavey amp is WAY louder, at least taper-wise. Virtually unuseable for smaller gigs. Next thing that hit me is how the peavey version is brighter/harsher, and the attack is quite mushy. The differences are not subtle; kinda comparable to playing a greenback loaded Bogner, then switching to a G12T-75 loaded Marshall cab.

I switched all the tubes between the amps, and it made little or no difference. The pre-peavey amp is just tighter, browner, better volume taper, sweeter high frequency, and a touch quieter floor noise, regardless of tubes used. Both amps were being played through the same cab, and no amount of settings changes could make up the difference.

For the record, i tried rolling preamp tubes one at a time, swapped power tubes,etc. It's just a different amp. After opening both amps up, and comparing gut shots, seems to be some differences there as well. I guess it's possible the new amp is a dud or whatever, but it does function just fine. Just wanted to share my experience...

Some pics (purple circuit board is peavey-made):
    http://rs33.pbsrc.com/albums/d61/beathead2003/Mobile Uploads/IMAG0423_zpshj5tv25a.jpg~320x480
    http://rs33.pbsrc.com/albums/d61/beathead2003/Mobile Uploads/IMAG0427_zpse4dtwprp.jpg~320x480
    http://i33.photobucket.com/albums/d61/beathead2003/Mobile Uploads/IMAG0425_zpskddtszhn.jpg

Last edited: May 23, 2015
    DMVGuitar and Dave_C like this.
  2. sickboy79

sickboy79 Member