XLR to pedals back to XLR

UrbanHymns

Silver Supporting Member
I'm new to the keys / home studio environment, so forgive my elementary questions. But I'm looking to run vocal mics and keyboard (with XLR out) through guitar pedals. Is there some sort of simple conversion box from XLR to 1/4" that would allow me to do this?

Gibs210

Cusack makes a pedal that does this for you in the form of an effects loop, I think it also converts high to low impedence like a DI box

zeffbeff

I do this all the time.

XLR goes into a Radial reamper box. Signal is now ready for guitar pedals.

In my case, I then send the signal into a DI box (I use active DI, but a nice passive would be fine too), which goes into my rack system.

But if you want, you can just take the signal from the guitar pedals and send it into a guitar amp or whatever.

UrbanHymns

Silver Supporting Member
I do this all the time.

XLR goes into a Radial reamper box. Signal is now ready for guitar pedals.

In my case, I then send the signal into a DI box (I use active DI, but a nice passive would be fine too), which goes into my rack system.

But if you want, you can just take the signal from the guitar pedals and send it into a guitar amp or whatever.

I would either send it to my recording interface (vocals) or to my studio monitors (keys).

zeffbeff

I would either send it to my recording interface (vocals) or to my studio monitors (keys).
Easy enough.

- XLR into Reamp box
- Guitar cable goes into guitar pedals
- Guitar cable goes into DI box
- XLR cable goes into recording interface or monitors (watch out for ground loops! use your ground lift switch on the DI box or Reamp box, depending)

UrbanHymns

Silver Supporting Member
Is there a problem with the cheapest option?

Monoprice 104768 3-Feet Premier Series XLR Female to 1/4-Inch TRS Male 16AWG Cable

denmalley

Silver Supporting Member

Monoprice 104768 3-Feet Premier Series XLR Female to 1/4-Inch TRS Male 16AWG Cable