XTC 101b guys - How are you running the Excursion?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs' started by Random Hero, Feb 22, 2008.

1. Random Hero

Random Hero Member

I've owned this amp for almost a week now, and I'm still somewhat learning it. For the past week I've been using "M" on the red channel for my leads, but today I switched it to "T" and am quite enjoying it. "L" seems a little bit overkill, but I don't think my oversized Mesa cab is helping with that?

Where are you guys running the excursion and why? I've not really moved the Blue (which is fabulous, by the way) excursion from "T" as I like it best there, but as I say, I'm still learning the amp as we speak.

2. Erik

Erik Member

Depends on which cab I use. With Greenbacks, I like "T" or "M". With G12H30's I usually use "M" or "L"...with V30's I seem to prefer "L".

That being said, on a recent gig I had cabs mixed up (thought I had my G12H30...but had the Greenback cab, insead) and had the excursion on "L" the whole night. Got quite a few compliments on my tone...and I never realized the "mistake" until after the show. Go figure. Once the drummer kicks in, does it matter? :D

3. Random Hero

Random Hero Member

That's interesting, that with GBs you use "T" or "M" and V30s, "L". "L" seems to have a ginormous bottom end, but "T" almost seems more saturated.

Perhaps it's my imagination :D

4. Lution

Lution Member

I go in between the 3. Right now I'm preferring "L"oose with the bass knob dialed back to noon. This gives me some real meaty, yet woody tone along with the style switch set to "OLD"

5. Erik

Erik Member

"L" does have a huge low end...the V30's hold together pretty well, which is why I think they match together really well. I hadn't really noticed the saturation on "T"...thanks for giving me something else to think about. ;)

+1...except that instead of using the "old" style, I like using Class A.

6. Random Hero

Random Hero Member