1. The Rules have been updated regarding posting as a business on TGP. Thread with details here: Thread Here
    Dismiss Notice

Yes!!! Ampeg VT-40 on its way!!

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs' started by mike aufrichtig, Mar 3, 2006.

1. mike aufrichtig

mike aufrichtig Silver Supporting Member

I’ve been lusting after one of these babies for more than 30 years, ever since hearing its close cousin, a V-2 with a matching 4x12 at a local music store in 1975, saying to myself “self, that’s great tone”, but a wanting a more portable version. I was outbid on one on EBAY on Christmas Day, then one appeared locally at Lark Street Music last week (http://www.larkstreetmusic.com/list/pict/Vt40.jpg), but they’re asking too much considering its condition and the consignment seller wouldn’t budge on price. Saw this one ( http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=7395405634&rd=1&sspagename=STRK%3AMEWN%3AIT&rd=1 )on Ebay this morning (I had spoken to the owner about it last week after seeing his HC ad, but he had no pics at the time), and went for the BIN option instantly. Looks to be in great operating condition with newer tubes, recent Jensens replacing the original speakers, and a three-prong cord (none of which the Lark Street one had). A jam scheduled a week from this Saturday with some brethren from the TDPRI will be the perfect testing ground. More to come once received……..

2. bluesdoc

bluesdoc Gold Supporting Member Gold Supporting Member

Mike, a bunch of us were treated to Leon playing his in January (~NAMM) and it was spectacular. And capable of major paint peel removal if desired - it was phenomenally loud and clear with volume ~3!! In Leon's masterful hands, it was a sound to behold :BEER

jon

3. mike aufrichtig