Yet another which delay should I get question...

Discussion in 'Effects, Pedals, Strings & Things' started by Avenger, Jan 4, 2008.

1. Avenger

Avenger Member

I know there are a lot of delay threads (I've read most of them), but I'm not really sure what delay I should try. I've had limited experience with delays. I had a Dan Echo which I sort of liked, but not enough to hold onto it.

I've recently discovered that I really like tape ehco sounds, which to me means low fi repeats and subtle warble/modulation. I'm also not a big fan of noisy pedals.;)

The new Boss Space Echo pedal looks like it might fit the bill, but I'd like to find something under $150.

The EH deluxe memory man w/hazarai looks like it might be great, especially with all the extra features such a looping, but the modulation is only on repeats under 300 ms. I usually like longer repeats.

Would the Tech 21 Boost Delay fit the bill? I've found almost no discussion on this pedal.

The Danelectro Reel Echo sounds cool, but it is huge, and some say it is very noisy.

Any other ideas or thoughts from the delay gurus out there?

2. orogeny

orogeny Supporting Member

My favorite delay is the DD20. At 180 new. . . we'll have to put that aside. Right after this one with a very very good tape sim at 60 bucks used is the digitech digidelay. I say start there. You might even stop there.

3. Birddog

Birddog Member

I am really liking the pair of Ibanez DE-7's that I bought last month. I've gigged with them and am really enchanted with their sound. I set one on "delay" at around 350ms and the other at "echo" around 600ms. The delay is fine. The echo is superb, getting darker and darker with each repeat. And there is ZERO tone coloring on the delay setting. Well made, heavy as hell and priced right.

4. Avenger

Avenger Member

Thanks. These are the kind of ideas I was looking for.