You might not think so, but you NEED a 2 amp rig to get the best of both worlds...

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs' started by michael.e, May 24, 2008.

1. michael.e

michael.e Supporting Member

In a no-compromise situation, 2 amps are it. Get the best cleans that you can find and couple it with the absolute best OD/Lead tones.

Clean-AC30BM with a Z-Vex BoR: Everything from gorgeous flutely, chimey cleans to crushed glass/blizzard of nails/pick responsive OD.

Dirt/lead-Orange AD50HW from the Custom Shop: Supa stanky dirt to woody, sweet meat/liquid tones that have bite and girth.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

I had the Orange at our band rehearsal studio for quite some time. Da band loves it. I have done some serious consolidating and this is all I have left...:(

Not to worry too much for me tho boys, I do have an incredible JMP combo from '72 coming in soon.

I will assult your ears with a little taste test very soon...

Anyway, I have had some incredible experiences with some GREAT channel switchers, but, alas, they are all gone. I need all the help that I can get and I cannot stop until I find the absolute best tones that work for me.

As soon as this is compleat, I am going to be looking for the BEST Fender type tones in BF, Blonde and Tweed.

Throw out some suggestions on that please!!

Emee

2. H_V_C

H_V_C Member

I pretty much agree, however, it's just not practical unless your playing huge concerts and you have plenty of roadies and a guitar tech.

Also, my choice would be a blackface super reverb and blackface pro reverb for cleans, and a Komet or 2 for dirty tones. :)

3. Red Planet

Red Planet Member

4. big mike

big mike Moderator - EL34 Emeritas Staff Member

5. Rusty G.

Rusty G. Member

I agree, in a recording situation. . .You need a Fender type amp for that type cleans, and a Vox type amp for that type of cleans. It also helps to have a Marshall type amp for grind. Then, it's a choice of OD boxes for lead.