Your amp nightmare...

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs' started by pharmx, Jan 30, 2008.

1. pharmx

pharmx Member

Ever had a gig where things went terribly wrong with your equipment? Post your experience here so that we can all learn something!

2. re-animator

re-animator Senior Member

1 man solo show: amp completely cuts out in the middle of performance. Vocals and guitar completely die.

unfortunately on a personal level, the gig got MUCH worse.

3. Guitar Slinger6

Guitar Slinger6 Member

18 yrs ago I got a gig with a touring band and on my first night with the band towards the end of the show things got a little crazy.Durring my big solo where the singer screams "on the guitar" and screams my name. I grab pose and a note and bend hard. So hard in fact the string breaks and at the time I had a Floyd Rose fully floating that went WAY out of tune. No problem, I scramble like a spider monkey and pick up my back up guitar because I am a professional and tear into it again while the croud stares at me like I have 3 heads. Well as luck would have it I broke another string within 2 seconds, still durring my solo. And at that time I really liked Floyd Roses and of course it went out of tune just as badly as the the first guitar. No problem our keyboard player (who is looking at me in unbelief) had a guitar that he used on certain songs for rhythm. At this point I unjack the cord and dove (head first) behind the keyboards for the guitar trying save face while the audience is now captivated by my circus like antics and performance. I got the guitar plugged in with a few bars left of the solo (enough to save some dignity) and my Mesa Boogie blows its fuse and the amp goes completely dead. As the song ended (without any guitar) the crowd watched watched me as I concluded my little show within the show by repairing literally all of my gear in front of them. While trying to get everthing put back together, I heard a mans voice from the front of the audience that was one of di