Your best tone.

Discussion in 'Guitars in General' started by PrestonBrick, May 3, 2008.

1. PrestonBrick

PrestonBrick Member

Name when you had your best tone and the gear you were using when you had it.

2. waxnsteel

waxnsteel Member

Some of my favorite is
    McCarty into Budda DS 30

Clean to dirty to dirtiest. The second time around was the same stuff just with a wireless.

3. Drew68

Drew68 Supporting Member

Les Paul Classic* + Cry Baby + Boss DS-1 + Ibanez DE-7 + Marshall DSL-50 (green channel) + 4 x Celestion G12-65 = awesome!

*Les Paul can be substituted for HW1 Stratocaster depending on mood.

4. Jahn

Jahn Listens to Johnny Marr, plays like John Denver Supporting Member

honestly it was probably my twin reverb and les paul with 70's buckers. but the LP was uncomfortable and the verb was too loud and big (didn't know about attenuators then). loved it for the clean deep tone with chime, with buckers no less.

5. gkoelling

gkoelling Member

I started playing in 1967.

I have better tone today than I've ever had.

I have three parts Tele's, a Prairiewood Special and a Vint. Mahog. LP Studio.

For amps I use a Gries 35 and a gkoelling.

Pedals are rarely used but if I want, I use a Keeley BD-2 with the Gries, a Holy Grail with the gkoelling and there's a BYOC Trem I use with either.

Sometimes picks, sometimes fingers, sometimes both.

It's these...

[​IMG]

Through this...
    [​IMG]

...or this...
    [​IMG]

6. jeffwith1f

jeffwith1f Member

I did a home scratch recording using my crappy tape 4 track to suss out some extra parts prior to recording.

I used:
    Gibson Flying V (1990 Gibson 67 R.I.)
    Marshal JCM 900 50W Head (run on 1/2 wattage)
    Marshall 1X12 JCM800 Cab
    Sure-a-like Mic.

Something just went right, probably right down the the way I had managed to place the mic in front of it all, and the way I happened to play it. I did three parts over top of eachother, and it sounded huge, and perfect. AND it had nuance.