your fave 'bucker for a Les Paul?

Discussion in 'Guitars in General' started by riffmeister, Jul 31, 2004.

1. riffmeister

riffmeister Gold Supporting Member

I have a brand new R8 with Burstbuckers. I'm not convinced that these are the best pickups for my taste. They have plenty of top and bottom, but could use some more in the middle.

Suggestions??

2. Two-Octave

Two-Octave Member

What kind of music are you playing? There are many options.

3. riffmeister

Clean & dirty Classic Rock type tones are what I seek.

4. retrospex

retrospex Member

I gig for a living in a classic rock cover band... my guitar is a Gibson Les Paul w/ Duncan Pearly Gates pickups. They are great for classic rock..

5. riffmeister

what are the Ohms for each in your R7?

I have a 8.6K Ohm Fralin (sans cover) at the bridge in my '75 Custom and like when the treble is rolled off a bit.

6. riffmeister

How does the volume and tone roll off with their kit? I want an immediate rolloff of both from the max position. As it is on the stock R8, noticeable rolloff only occurs beginning at about "4" on the knobs.

7. cocheese

cocheese Supporting Member

Riff,

The Jason Lollar Imperials are hands down the best humbuckers I've ever heard. They do the clean and dirty stuff so well it's friggin' unbelievable!!! :D

8. ahellam

ahellam Member

Duncan seth lover might be what you are looking for riff.

9. Motorhed

Motorhed Member

gibson '57 classic. it could be a tad hotter for distortion, but otherwise its everything i love about les paul tone.

10. george4908

george4908 Member

>>gibson '57 classic

+1. Not the booteek flava of the month, but still a fine pickup.

11. gitarzilla

gitarzilla Member

In the garage, fixing stuff my kids broke