Your Latest preference in 6L6's?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs' started by joek86, Feb 19, 2012.

1. joek86

joek86 Supporting Member

I have little experience with these...Fender style application...what should I try?

~Joe

2. '58Bassman

'58Bassman Member

The last 6L6 I bought have ARS Van Nuys, Calif on them but were made by Electro Harmonics- Made In Russia. They were listed, and are marked as, 5881/6L6WGC. I think I bought them in the late '90s but don't know where the invoice is. They sound good- if you're familiar with the Tom Wheeler book called 'The Soul Of Tone- 60 Years of Fender Amps', these were in my '58 Bassman when the vintage tracks were recorded. The rectifier was the Groove Tubes solid state version and I have re-installed most of the original yellow Astron capacitors. I had replaced them with newer Astron poly-styrene caps, but had found out that these were generally not a problem, unlike electrolytic caps.

3. big mike

big mike Moderator - EL34 Emeritas Staff Member

Current production
    Tung sol 6l6gcstr

NOS. GE or RCA or sylvania

4. solitaire

solitaire Senior Member

TAD 6L6GC and WGC, Ruby 6L6GC MSTR, TS 6L6GC STR, TS KT66... Haven't heard any reports on the new TS 7581A yet, but I'm sure it's nice too.

5. vibrasonic

vibrasonic Member

I've been on the NOS kick for awhile, just got a few matched sets of sylvanias, great sounding tubes.

I wish i could find some RCA's that were affordable.

I just got some Tung sol 5881's that i'm going to try soon (NOS). I'm thinking of putting them in my 6G9A Tremolux

6. dmagalhaes

dmagalhaes Supporting Member

SED "Winged C's" and TAD's.

7. big mike

big mike Moderator - EL34 Emeritas Staff Member

Dude the nos tungsol 5881 are amazing!!!!

8. Guitar Dave T

Guitar Dave T Member

REALLY like the Sovtek 6L6 WXT Plus. Fat, meaty, robust and holds up to a lot of abuse. And I've not been a big Sovtek fan in recent years.