your PEDAL that DRIVES reviews..... OPEN MIC

Discussion in 'Effects, Pedals, Strings & Things' started by Cary Chilton, Aug 12, 2005.

1. Cary Chilton

Cary Chilton Senior Member

I am curious if any members have tried any of the following on their tube amps:

sorry for the huge list but I know everyone likes different things.

RC or AC boost (is the ac is distortion unit or OD circuit?)
    SIB varidrive
    Menatone's ptp drives (howie, kar krash, working mans blue, fish factory)
    diamond Jdrive , red snapper)
    Tim, timmy
    THD
    Gainster (cB or ptp)
    zen or zen II
    budda's OD
    MI audio's Blue boy
    Hot cake
    Shredmaster
    OCD
    TMB and GL TMB(legendary tones)
    Expandora (any model)
    lovepedal's
    Zvex super hardon or super duper

I am quite new to pedals since I have just always used my amp and guitar BUT I want to try some HIGH quality pedals based on your recommendations. I can't buy all of them! I wish I could..
    Any and all impressions of these pedals are appreciated. Especially if you have had the opportunity to compare one or more of these models with any tube amp.
    I am looking for all kinds of pedals for all kinds of applications everything from clean boosts to a modern rock. I just want to buy 3-5 pedals of the best. :dude

2. hemlock

hemlock Guest

You can do a search for each of those and find loads of info from people who have them. That'll be a good place to start. after that, dive in and buy a few on the Emporium. You can always unload them later for very little difference than what you paid.

3. David-R

David-R Supporting Member

OCD and Zendrive. Both are on my board right now. I don't need both but I'm not sure which will stay.

IMO - the OCD is more transparent and natural sounding but seems to accentuate a fizzy top end in my 6L6 based amp.

4. Cary Chilton

thanks dave,