ZVEX BoR...do I need one???

Discussion in 'Effects, Pedals, Strings & Things' started by wingwalker, Jan 27, 2008.

1. wingwalker

wingwalker Fuzzy Guitars

Ok guys...I am looking for a nice crunchy tone that sort of pickups where the Distortion channel on my King of Tone leaves off...something wiht more gain than the KoT but also a more crunchy gain...think first album era Billy G or Beck on Truth...maybe a little Clapton.

Im thinking a BoR might be the ticket but here is the hitch...I don't play through Marshalls...will this pedal do the trick through small Fenders...a Brown Deluxe and a tweed Super to be specific?

I hear the BoR has a bump in the lows that might help me out dealing with open back combos...

What do you think, is this the pedal for me...yes/no? Got any other ideas???

2. Mantis

Mantis Member

I was in the same position your are. I have a 65 fender bandmaster and a 50 watt marshall copy combo amp, but I wanted more gain.

I was recently at a music store in Chicago and tried out the BOR having never heard anything about. I was sold instantly and I tried about 12 other similar pedals. You will like it.

3. zachary vex

zachary vex Member

Which music store in Chicago?

4. re-animator

re-animator Senior Member

couldn't get it to jive with my fender.... its marginally better with my ac30, but I did play it through a JTm45 once and it was heavenly.... got that "on 10" volume when I was really on 3.

5. Ohzoso

Ohzoso Member

I was wondering if the BoR can do the same JTM45 trick in front of a Tiny Terror....

6. spiritofeden

spiritofeden Member